Hungry Eyes, New Orleans, LA Report #708

I’m lucky enough to have a couple great kids. They know I’m greedy so whenever some occasion pops up that requires them giving me a gift, they give me a gift card to a restaurant! They also know I like trying different places. My daughter goes to the index pages of places I’ve been, finds one I haven’t reported on yet, and that’s where they send me. That’s how we ended up here tonight.

Speaking of the pages to find my reports, a lot of people tell me they have trouble getting to them. You can click on these if you want to find links to my reports listed Alphabetically, by Cuisine or by Neighborhood.

Interesting decor. Even in the bathroom. I spare no effort to bring my readers these pics. I had to stand in the toilet to get that one!

Apparently, their menu changes often. The website only offers a sample menu. Here’s a link to it: https://www.hungryeyesnola.com/menu

Today’s menu was the last picture above. It’s pretty short and that’s fine with me. I’d rather a place do only a few things but do them right, instead of doing a ton of things and all of them be mediocre. When I was looking at the menu, I had no idea how “right” they do things here.

There were a couple of specials. A sashimi style tuna served over corn, habaneros and some other stuff, or a short rib dish. My dining partner went with the short rib. We also ordered:

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~ THE FOOD ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Eggplant Dip with Roti
French Fries with Toum
Short Rib
The Big Schnitzel

I’m going to run out of words to describe how good everything was here.

The eggplant dip was awesome. Loved the sunflower seeds and everything else that came with it. Especially the hot, fresh roti to slather it on.

The French fries were absolutely, indisputably, positively, everything French fries should be! Hot, crisp, not too thin, not too thick, lightly salted and with no stupid batter. They were served with Toum, which is a Lebanese garlic sauce. If you’re a fry lover don’t come here and not get these.

The short rib came with more roti, cooked in a different way, a cold veggie salad with squash and some other stuff, and some Tzatziki sauce. Everything on the plate was delicious.

Lastly, my Big Schnitzel. They should call it The Humongous Schnitzel! Two can easily share this dish. The crust was very crisp and had a citrusy kind of taste. Loved the white wine tarter sauce. And I’m not a salad person, but the shaved asparagus salad was incredible! Shaving the fresh asparagus in thin slices really makes a big difference.

Oh, I should mention an 18% service charge is added to every check. Of course, you can tip more if you want. Our waitress was great and definitely earned every penny of her tip!

I couldn’t complain about anything if I wanted to. Every single dish was fantastic. I highly recommend this place!

4206 Magazine St., New Orleans, LA. 70115 Ph: (504) 766-0054

Blaine 6-14-2024

5 thoughts on “Hungry Eyes, New Orleans, LA Report #708

  1. Could you list restaurants that are quiet enough to have a conversation without yelling? People with hearing aids have a hard time in loud restaurants. Such a list would be very helpful to many of us.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment