JusTini’s, New Orleans, LA Report #709

I have a credit card linked to a major hotel chain. They have a program where you get reward points for dining at selected places. I got an email offering me 250 bonus points if I made a reservation through them to dine at six restaurants. This one was the first one on the list. I looked at the menu and had to look no further. I made my reservation!

Anyway, that’s how I found out about this restaurant. Nice, very elegant looking place. There’s a covered courtyard if you care to dine out there. Beautiful bar. We had a table to ourselves in a little alcove. Very quaint!

I couldn’t find a link to their menu online. Today’s menu is pictured in the last picture above.

I decided on the Lamanche St. Lambchops. One of my dining partners went with the Catfish Dauphine. My other dining partner, who’s extremely greedy, wanted BOTH! Since it was my turn to pay, I quickly shut down that nonsense! Our waitress advised us they could put together a combo of both dishes for her. Dessert was the beignet sticks.

***** THE FOOD *****

Lamanche St. Lambchops
Catfish Dauphine
Bartholomew St. Beignet Sticks

If you were wondering most of the dishes are named after local streets. Bywater is the neighborhood the restaurant is located in. Lamanche St. happens to be one block away from where New Orleans legend Fats Domino lived.

My lamb dish was delicious. Only problem was I could have eaten MANY more of those lambchops! The sauce was great, the grits were nice and creamy, and the asparagus was very tender.

My dining partners both enjoyed their catfish dishes.

I’ve had beignet fries before. If you’ve ever had funnel cakes that’s what they remind me of. These were pretty good! One of my dining partners mentioned she likes them better than regular beignets because there’s no doughy center. Crisp all the way through. They were served with a yummy, sweet cream cheese dip. The dip was so good my other dining partner, the really greedy one, had to take the remaining dip home! Not sure what she’s going to eat it on since we knocked all the fries off.

One final note, an 18% service charge is included on all checks. That’s getting more and more common. We had a fantastic meal last night at a place called Hungry Eyes that charged that exact percentage.

Great lunch here today. I recommend the joint!

3162 Dauphine St., New Orleans, LA 70117 Ph: (504) 381-5098

Blaine 6-15-2024

3 thoughts on “JusTini’s, New Orleans, LA Report #709

    1. Oh, I don’t know. Didn’t even think about that. Should be pre of course but I bet it was post. If I had gotten rotten service where I didn’t feel they earned it I probably would have paid more attention.

      Like

Leave a comment