Yinzer’s, New Orleans, LA Report #692

Decades ago, I took a trip to Philadelphia and had a cheesesteak sandwich. I think it was at a place called Jim’s on South St. I’ll never forget, there was this older guy working the grill. To his right he had a big tub of thinly sliced beef and to his left he had a tub of sliced onions. He’d throw a big handful of beef on the right side of the grill and a big handful of onions on the left and start moving them around with a chopping motion slowly toward the middle with two long spatulas. When they got to the middle they’d be cooked and then he’d make the sandwiches. It was a thing of beauty!

He also had a big, industrial sized can of Cheese Whiz by the grill. Apparently that’s a popular thing up there. When someone ordered a sandwich with that, he’d stick one of those long spatulas in the can and slop it onto the buns, kind of using the bun to wipe the knife clean.

The sandwich I got up there was fantastic. I was an instant fan of Philly cheesesteak.

When I heard this place had great cheesesteaks I was anxious to get in here and give them a try. But when I checked out their website, I discovered they don’t make Philadelphia style sandwiches, but Pittsburgh style. I had absolutely no idea what the difference was but was eager to find out!

Small place. They have a dartboard if you want to play darts while waiting for your order, but it better be a quick game. After we ordered our food was out in no time.

Here’s a link to their menu: https://www.yinzersamazingcheesesteaks.com/menu

We ordered the steak cheesesteak with two cheeses. Provolone and in-house made cheddar whiz. We also got a chicken bacon ranch, a German pretzel and a dill pickle!

!~!~!~!~!~!~ THE FOOD ~!~!~!~!~!~!

The Stuff
Chicken Bacon Ranch
Pretzel and Dill Pickle

Remember, I don’t take the word “delicious” lightly. When I say something is delicious unless you don’t own a tongue you can bet the house on it.

Both of these sandwiches were delicious! And I see why they had a roll of paper towels on the table. You definitely needed them. Fresh bread, well seasoned meat, grilled onions and ohhhh so cheesy! First, I ate half of the cheesesteak and told my dining partner I wished I had eaten that one second so I could keep the taste in my mouth longer. She said don’t worry. The chicken one was delicious too. Even though she doesn’t have anywhere near my refined palate, she was right!

That German pretzel was fantastic too. The cheese whiz was great but the mustard they served with it was awesome! Every dip of the pretzel I was torn between the cheese or the mustard.

Excellent dinner here tonight. I highly recommend this place!

1514 Delachaise St., New Orleans, LA 70115 Ph: (504) 860-6801

Blaine 4-26-2024

3 thoughts on “Yinzer’s, New Orleans, LA Report #692

  1. I have never had a cheesesteak in Pennsylvania. But in our area we have a small chain called Taste of Philly. I love their cheesesteaks and they look just like the ones in your pictures here. Yum!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment