District Donuts, New Orleans, LA Report #177

 

This is the Lakeview location.  I hear everyone refer to this place just as District Donuts, but I guess technically the name of the place is District Donuts.Sliders.Brews.  That’s a better name since they’re about so much more than donuts.  But the donuts are special.  At least the one I had was!  More on that later.  The picture of them above is this weeks lineup.  They told me the Glazed, Cinnamon Sugar, Chocolate Glazed, Cinnamon Roll and Brown Butter Drop are standard.  They’re always available.  The other flavors change weekly, on Saturday.

The place is beautiful.  I love the décor and the way it’s laid out.  For dinner my dining partner and I decided on the Pick any Three.  Mix and match any three sliders.  I also decided on the White Chocolate Strawberry Champagne donut for dessert. One of the best decisions I ever made in my life.

 

Between the two of us we tried the Cheeseburger, Chicken, Pork Belly and Roast Beef sliders.  All four were delicious.  I like the fact they use thigh meat for the chicken sliders.  Much juicier and more flavorful than chicken breast.

Now, the donut.  Wow.  Best donut I ever had.  First of all, the donuts are huge.  If you told me three sliders and one donut would have a pig like me stuffed, I would have called you crazy.  I left stuffed.

The texture of this donut is hard to describe.  Like somewhere between your traditional donut and cake.  And I’m not sure what kind of icing it was it, but it was fantastic.  As was the filling.  Only thing could have made it better was if they had put a fully ripe chocolate dipped strawberry on the top.

Great place.  I highly recommend it!

527 Harrison Ave., New Orleans, LA  70124  Ph: 504-827-1152

Blaine 2-9-2019

SUPPLEMENTAL REPORT:

 

4

5

6

7

I didn’t realize that sometimes when you order online, the service is run by a third party vendor who takes a cut of the money.  If you look at the first email above, when you order from the website of this location, 100% of the money goes to the restaurant.  Pretty important in these tough times.  After you order, once you arrive at the restaurant you have to wait outside, and they’ll bring your order out to you.

Everything was delicious.  I had a double cheeseburger with an over easy egg on it, and my dining partner had hamburger and fried chicken sliders.  Great waffle fries too.

And don’t be shocked when you see one donut cost $2.50  They’re huge!  6 regular sized donuts could easily fit in that box.

Their donuts are different.  For example, the Chocolate Glazed isn’t like your normal glazed donut.  It’s more like a cake donut with chocolate frosting.  Very good!  And the Strawberry Lemonade Donut was delicious!  Nice place to grab a bite.

527 Harrison Ave., New Orleans, LA 70124 Ph: 504-827-1152

Blaine 4-25-2020

 

4 thoughts on “District Donuts, New Orleans, LA Report #177

Leave a comment