Flour Moon Bagels, New Orleans, LA Report #702

I like bagels. Unfortunately, New Orleans isn’t a bagel town. Fortunately, every now and then we get lucky, and a Yankee comes down here to show us how to do it right. That’s exactly what happened with this place!

I’ve heard making good bagels consist of more than just making dough, shaping it and then throwing them in the oven. You’ve got to boil them first in salt water and who knows what else. Well, they tell you how they do it on their website:

That’s a lot of work! Certainly more than I’m willing to do. And to get my oven at home to 500 degrees I’d probably have to set my house on fire. With my luck even then it’d probably just get to 495. Anyway, I was looking forward to trying these things!

They’re located right on the Lafitte Greenway. Nice looking little place with a lot more covered outdoor seating with fans than indoor seating. If you like their products they sell some of them.

Here’s a link to their menu: https://flourmoonbagels.com/menu/

We decided on:

\\\ THE FOOD ///

Classic Breakfast
Rare Roast Beef

As you may know I have a pretty big appetite. I was skeptical a single bagel sandwich would fill me up, so I started to order two. That would have been a mistake. These are pretty substantial!

My dining partner ordered the classic breakfast bagel with the chili crisp mayo on the side. She was happy with that decision because she didn’t think it went with the eggs, but said the sandwich was so delicious it didn’t need any sauce! She reluctantly let me have a bite and I agreed. Delicious!

Now she did grab half of my roast beef bagel, spread some of that mayo on it and took a monster bite before I could say, “What the hell”?! She loved it on that.

My roast beef bagel was also delicious. It had a nice horseradishy sauce that wasn’t overpowering.

A tartine is just an open-faced bagel. The Mockingbird we had for dessert was fantastic! I’m not a fan of dates because I think they are a little too sweet, but everything on it went well together.

Great place. I highly recommend it!

457 N. Dorgenois St., New Orleans, LA 70119 Ph: (504) 354-1617

Blaine 5-26-2024

5 thoughts on “Flour Moon Bagels, New Orleans, LA Report #702

Leave a comment