Bop’s Frozen Custard, D’Iberville, MS Report #711

My road trip has landed me in D’Iberville, Mississippi, and led to the discovery of a frozen custard joint! We don’t have any in New Orleans. I love frozen custard and maybe this place has finally revealed why. They have a sign explaining that frozen custard is served at 26 degrees fahrenheit, as opposed to ice cream being served at about 10. So instead of freezing your taste buds numb, they can pick up on all the creamy goodness of the custard. That makes sense. Hundreds of times in the past I’ve thought, “If this damn ice cream was just about 16 degrees warmer it’d taste a LOT better”!

I’ve never heard of Bop’s before. When traveling we normally get our frozen custard fix from a place called Rita’s, but I’m willing to try frozen custard anytime I can get it!

My dining partner went with the Snappy Turtle and I went with a banana pudding sundae.

~!~!~!~!~! THE FOOD !~!~!~!~!~

Both of these were made with vanilla frozen custard, and both were utterly delicious!

No more to say. If you see a Bop’s, do yourself a favor and stop in!

3179 Mallett Rd., D’Iberville, MS 39540 Ph: (228) 392-2677

Blaine 6-17-2024

SUPPLEMENTAL REPORT:

Stopped back in today to try a shaved ice. I’ve never had one of those. I figured it was like a snowball.

I was right. It was like a snowball, but the ice wasn’t as fine as you get at most of your nicer New Orleans snowball stands. This was the Georgia Peach flavor. Very good syrup. It was delicious!

That is all.

3179 Mallett Rd., D’Iberville, MS 39540 Ph: (228) 392-2677

Blaine 6-18-2024

7 thoughts on “Bop’s Frozen Custard, D’Iberville, MS Report #711

Leave a comment