Kenney Seafood, Slidell, LA Report #690

Today my job took me across Lake Pontchartrain to the beautiful city of Slidell, LA. I was wondering what this area would look like because a couple of weeks ago a tornado blew through here causing a lot of damage. That means the people of Slidell need our support, and my favorite way to support folks in a time of crises is to go there and spend money on food! If you want to help the people here, I’ve seen this group on TV over here doing a lot of work. If you want to help you can use this link to make a donation: https://www.ob.org/helping-hand-for-slidell-tornado-victims/

This place is a combo seafood market and restaurant that has been in business since 1972. The seafood market section is bigger than I thought it would be. And they’re pretty well stocked. You can find everything from Royal Red shrimp to turtle and alligator meat.

Here’s a link to their menu: https://kenneyseafood.com/menu/

I started to go with the Monday Special. Red beans and rice with two pieces of fried fish. Then I saw you got two sides with the seafood dinners PLUS a crawfish pie! And they had gumbo and jambalaya as sides! I decided to go with those sides with a soft shell crab dinner. Dessert was bread pudding.

~~~~~~~~~~ THE FOOD ~~~~~~~~~~

Tomato in the gumbo
Bread Pudding with Rum Sauce

What a good-looking platter of food! For the price I was thinking I’d get one big crab, but I got two! They were a nice size and fried perfectly. Not too much batter to hide the delicate flavor of the crab.

There were a couple pieces of tomato in my gumbo. I consider that a mortal sin, BUT the gumbo had such a great flavor in this case I forgive them! Decent amount of ingredients in it, too.

The jambalaya was pretty good with pieces of sausage, chicken and shrimp in it. The crawfish pie was tiny. One crawfish tail would have filled it up! This one only had chopped pieces of crawfish meat in it, but overall the pie had a good flavor.

When the bread pudding came out I wasn’t too enthusiastic about trying it. It reminded me of me. Dense and a little ugly. But it was pretty good and most importantly, raisin free! The rum sauce was delicious. Be prepared to share it because they give you a huge chunk.

Very good lunch here today. I’ll gladly stop in again next time I’m in Slidell.

400 Pontchartrain Dr., Slidell, LA 70458 Ph: (504) 643-2717

Blaine 4-22-2024

Leave a comment