Parkway Bakery & Tavern, New Orleans, LA Report #249

If I told a fellow New Orleanian I had never been here, their response would be, “You’re kidding, right?  It’s that popular a po-boy shop.  And very old. Established in 1911.

I normally eat healthy during the week and hit the gym every day, so I don’t balloon up to 300 pounds, but there was a reason I had to get here today.  More on that in a bit.  I had to get our order to go since my regular dining partner couldn’t get away from working at home today.

We decided on:

And this.  This was the entire reason for todays food debauchery:

25

They’ve been making this poor boy for years, and for years I’ve been saying I’ve got to get one.  Today, it happened!  Turkey, dressing and cranberry sauce on a po-boy.  Sounds like a beautiful thing!

The food:

Of course being packed to go everything doesn’t look as appetizing, but everything was quite good.

I don’t like fried pickles.  At all.  My dining partner loves them and said they were good.  I took her word for it.

The jambalaya was pretty good.  Nothing extraordinary, but good.

I would have preferred the shrimp on the shrimp po-boy fried crisper, but they were seasoned well and the sandwich was loaded with them.  We enjoyed it.

The  Thanksgiving po-boy was very good.  Full of white and dark meat turkey, in chunks like it was rough cut right off the bird.  Yummy.

Finally, the bread pudding was excellent!  EXCEPT, and this is just me, it was loaded with raisins.  That’s traditional, but I don’t like raisins.  The rum sauce was delicious!

Great place!  I highly recommend it.

538 Hagan Ave., New Orleans, LA  70119  Ph: 504-482-3047

Blaine 11-20-2019

SUPPLEMENTAL REPORT:

Back in today for the Thanksgiving Poor Boy. They do it only on Wednesdays during the month of November. If you come in to get one you WILL wait in line. We got in line at 10:58am, finally ordered at 11:50am, and got our food at 12:01pm.

We ordered:

## the food ##

Everything was delicious. This is a great place for poboys. Come on in!

538 Hagan Ave., New Orleans, LA  70119  Ph: 504-482-3047

Blaine 11-24-2021

11 thoughts on “Parkway Bakery & Tavern, New Orleans, LA Report #249

Leave a comment