Mahoney’s Po-boys & Seafood, New Orleans, LA Report #703

One of my 7 or 8 readers contacted me and asked if I had ever been here. The answer was, “no”. She said she saw the place featured on a Food Network show called Diners, Drive-Ins & Dives, and the host ate a po-boy called The Peacemaker. The Peacemaker consisted of fried shrimp, fried oysters, cheddar cheese and candied bacon.

Well, I can’t let my readers down. Not that I wanted to eat one of these things, but this isn’t about me. It’s about giving my readers the kind of quality restaurant reports they deserve, so I selflessly came on in to this joint to eat one. And of course, a whole lot more.

Funny thing is until last summer I had never eaten cheese on a fried seafood sandwich in my life. A friend told me I had to try it, so I went into a place called Salvo’s Seafood and ordered a fried catfish on bun with American cheese. I loved it! So, this Peacemaker thing didn’t sound too weird to me. Getting a little ahead of myself I got American cheese on it instead of cheddar.

I love the look of the place. With the hardwood floors and everything it’s like you walked into someone’s house. It’s easy to see that’s what it was some time in the past. I also love that each table is set up with paper towels and all the condiments your heart could desire.

There’s SO much I wanted to try! The Angus Pot Roast Beef, the Fried BBQ Shrimp, the Crawfish Etouffee, the Catfish Atchafalaya and more! But there’s only one me and I only brought one stomach tonight. My dining partner went with a fried shrimp poboy and I went with The Peacemaker. We got an order of fries, an order of red beans and rice, and I did go ahead and get a cup of the crawfish etouffee.

*~*~*~*~ THE FOOD ~*~*~*~*

FOOD!
Shrimp Poboy
Red Beans & Rice

The crawfish etouffee was great. Tasted like homemade with plenty of crawfish tails. All that was missing was some potato salad! And the cup was a nice sized portion.

Same with the red beans. Generous helping of well-seasoned, tender and creamy red beans.

My dining partner enjoyed her shrimp poboy.

The Peacemaker was very good. The bread was fresh, the sandwich was dressed nicely, and the seafood was fried perfectly. I was wondering if the “candied” bacon would have a sweet taste that’d be weird on a seafood poboy, but it didn’t. The only complaint I’d have was with so much going in it was a little hard to taste the oysters, and I’m a fried oyster lover

The fries were perfect. No silly batter or anything. Just plain potatoes fried crisp.

Great dinner here tonight. I’ll be back to sample more of the menu!

3454 Magazine St., New Orleans, LA 70115 Ph: (504) 899-3374

Blaine 6-1-2024

Leave a comment