Mooyah, Metairie, LA Report #67

This is one of my favorite burger places.  Spacious, clean, well lit, downright pretty inside.  Big chalk wall for the kids to occupy themselves with.  Fast food type atmosphere with some premium type ingredients you can add to your burger like sliced avocado, blue cheese, applewood smoked bacon, grilled onions, sautéed mushrooms, fried onion strings and green chiles.  They also use potato and multigrain buns, or if you’re carb conscious you can have your burger sandwiched between iceberg lettuce leaves.

Pictured first is a regular Mooyah cheeseburger with pepper jack cheese on their multigrain  bun.  Yum.

Next is a chili dog.  They use Hebrew National hot dogs which I think are the best you can buy.  As you can see they serve it on a potato bun, instead of a traditional hotdog bun, which is delicious, and their chili is delicious.

We also tried the Double Diablo.  Two Angus beef patties with smoked applewood bacon, jalapeños, pepper jack cheese, Cholua hot sauce and mayo.  One of the best hamburgers I ever had.  May be a little spicy for some but I like it spicy!  And their smallest order of fries is plenty enough for two people.  Speaking of fries, they have the best I ever had.  They’re always crunchy on the outside and fluffy on the inside.  I’m not a big French fry lover but I can never stop eating these.

The shakes come in two sizes:  The Little Moo and the Big Moo.  My dining companion had the Oreo shake and she said it was the best Oreo shake she ever had.  They’re really thick.  I had a strawberry banana Big Moo and it was fantastic.

They also have an app which gives you one point for every dollar you spend.  Spend $100 and get a $10 reward.  The reward money never expires and you can let it accumulate.

If you’re a burger lover like me you’ll LOVE this place!

4100 Veterans Blvd., Metairie, LA  70002  Ph: 504-373-6328

Blaine 1-6-2018

SUPPLEMENTAL REPORT:

Back at Mooyah and just had a DELICIOUS, juicy, double cheeseburger. The burgers and fries are great as always but I felt a need to report on the shake.  I was in the mood for something different so I decided to try the Reese’s PB Cups shake.  I was imagining a smooth, peanut butter and chocolate flavored shake.  Not what I got.  Basically a vanilla shake with big chunks of Reese’s Peanut Butter cups broken up into it.  If that sounds good to you, go for it.  But it wasn’t what I wanted.  Should’ve just stuck with vanilla.

4100 Veterans Blvd., Metairie, LA  70002  Ph: 504-373-6328

Blaine 3-25-2018

SUPPLEMENTAL REPORT:

Back open for dine in!  And very responsibly social distanced in the dining room.  I decided on a Double Diablo and added lettuce, pickles and grilled onions.  My dining partner made the mistake of ordering a “sharable” order of fries for us.  I thought I remembered that being way to much for two people.  It was.  Easily enough for three BIG eaters, or four normal people.  My burger was fantastic too.  Come on in!

4100 Veterans Blvd., Metairie, LA 70002 Ph: 504-373-6328

Blaine 5-29-2020

SUPPLEMENTAL REPORT:

Ok, due to the pandemic and all of the parades being canceled, a very lame Mardi Gras is over. The Mayor even closed EVERY bar in the city AND Bourbon St.! I feel sorry for tourist who came here for the greatest free show on Earth.

But the day after Fat Tuesday, Ash Wednesday rolled in and Lent began. I normally eat healthy Monday through Friday night, then Friday night I began dining out and doing these reports. However, this year for Lent, my significant other decided to only eat bad one day a week as a Lenten sacrifice. Sunday. And coerced me to join her! I decided to go along with it.

So today we go to Mooyah for lunch. And eat healthy. Yeah, right. How can I go into a place like this and not have that fresh, white potato bun? And those fries? And a milkshake? I actually tried to convince myself sweet potato fries were healthy, but opted not to get them. I went with the Paleo Burger.

&&&&&&&&&& THE FOOD &&&&&&&&&&

There’s a little tab on the soda fountain you can hit to get carbonated water. I like sparkling water. That took away a little of the pain of not getting a shake.

I know about these type of burgers. People on low carb diets get these and they use lettuce leaves instead of a bun. Hooray.

Well, turned out to be almost a whole damned head of iceberg lettuce instead of a few leaves! And surprisingly, it was pretty good! I was scared it wouldn’t fill me up with no fries to go with it, but with 1/2 pound of really good beef it did. I actually enjoyed it.

Would I order it again? HELL NO! I love my white bread, crisp fries, and those great milkshakes. But if you’re watching your waistline, I recommend it!

4100 Veterans Blvd., Metairie, LA 70002 Ph: 504-373-6328

Blaine 2-20-2021

SUPPLEMENTAL REPORT:

We actually came here last Saturday, but they were serving a very limited menu thanks to Hurricane Ida. That’s why we ended up at Don’s Seafood. They’re finally back to their full menu.

My dining partner loves fried pickles, so she wanted that Big Dill burger. Unfortunately, they didn’t have them. I wanted to try the pecan shake, so I ordered that and The best Quesanario.

** THE FOOD **

The burger was delicious! If you come here I reccommend that one.

There’s a travel plaza type place you’ve probably seen driving down the interstate called Stuckey’s. They specialize in pecan everything. Including shakes. They make delicious ones. That’s what I was hoping this one would be, but I was kind of disappointed. They said it was made with butter pecan syrup and sea salt caramel toffee sauce. It tasted more like a caramel shake than pecan.

Good lunch! Glad they’re back to their full menu.

4100 Veterans Blvd., Metairie, LA 70002 Ph: 504-373-6328

Blaine 9-25-2021

SUPPLEMENTAL REPORT:

For the first time in my life I was disappointed by a Mooyah burger. I tried the Mushroom Swiss. One thin slice of Swiss cheese on it, and basically devoid of any mushrooms and/or fried onion strings. The bun was fresh and the ground beef patty was good as usual, but topping wise they really skimped on this one.

4100 Veterans Blvd., Metairie, LA 70002 Ph: 504-373-6328

Blaine 2-12-2022

SUPPLEMENTAL REPORT:

Tried the house made potato chips for the first time today. If you’re a chip lover it don’t get no better than this! But I still prefer their French fries. And the burgers are still outstanding.

4100 Veterans Blvd., Metairie, LA 70002 Ph: 504-373-6328

Blaine 7-30-2022

19 thoughts on “Mooyah, Metairie, LA Report #67

  1. Gosh, they need to get one of those up to MN : ( The potato buns, the Hebrew dogs (agreed they’re the best no doubt). Very cool logo, and clean looking place.

    I’m a pepper jack man myself, always get it if it’s option, the “double diablo” has created a burning hole in this foodie heart. That food looks perfectly done all around, and the fry options makes the mouth water all the more. This is torture reading, time to head to the kitchen to drown out all this delicious visual noise going on : )

    Think my next vacation’s going to be in your parts, and just follow all the places you go to!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment